Food Allergies

We recognize various food allergies and intolerances, and strive to provide you with all the ingredients we use in the food items we prepare. At every station in both dining halls, we have digital screens that provide the breakdown of the nutritional content of each dish. We identify and display the top eight allergens: egg, milk, peanut, tree nut, fish, shellfish, soy and wheat. Our goal is to ensure confidence in knowing what foods you can safely eat with your specific food allergy or intolerance.

Allergen Guide

We have an Allergen Guide available to students who want a guide to managing their food allergies while on campus and for the rest of their lives. Students with food allergies or nutritionally significant medical conditions (diabetes, Celiac disease, Crohn’s disease, anemia, hypertension, hypoglycemia, etc.) can receive nutrition advisement through a private consultation with our Registered Dietitian. The private consultation will include a tour of the dining locations to identify which foods are safe and a meeting with the chefs or any necessary managers so that you know who to contact with questions. Our Registered Dietitian is available to all UNC-Chapel Hill students with concerns about dining on campus, schedule an appointment today.

Peanuts: Our dining halls operate a nut-free salad bar to help eliminate cross-contamination. Students with a peanut allergy are advised to take caution with bakery items.

Tree Nuts: Our dining halls operate a nut-free salad bar to help eliminate cross-contamination. Students with a tree nut allergy are advised to take caution with bakery items and any menu items that contain coconut or coconut milk. Our pesto is made in-house and is free of tree nuts.

Milk: Soy milk and lactose-free ice cream are available every day in the dining halls. We cook with a dairy-free margarine.

Wheat: Everyday, we have gluten-free cereal, bread and pasta, many salad dressings and sauces made without gluten, all gluten-free deli meats and a dessert option made without gluten. We also use gluten-free vegetable, chicken and beef bases when cooking.

Soy: In an effort to decrease the amount of items that contain soy, our chefs cook with a soy-free canola/olive oil chef blend.

EggStudents with an egg allergy are asked to refrain from eating baked goods and encouraged to check ingredient labels of all items they wish to eat. 

Fish: Entrees with fish as an ingredient are occasionally on the menu. Students with fish allergies are asked to check the menus and ingredients.

Shellfish: Entrees with shellfish as an ingredient are sometimes on the menu. Students with shellfish allergies are asked to check the menus and ingredients.

Please be advised that we prepare our foods in commercial kitchens where cross-contact with food allergens is possible and where ingredient substitutions and recipe revisions are sometimes made. In addition, manufacturers of commercial foods we use may change their product formulation or consistency of ingredients at any time without notice. Accordingly, actual ingredients and nutritional content may vary and we cannot guarantee that any food item will be completely free of food allergens. To the extent you have any questions regarding ingredients of a particular food item, please consult with the dining manager on duty or contact our Registered Dietitian.